Episode 105: SNES Deep Cuts


Download Episode 05: “SNES Deep Cuts” here!

Uncovering unique tracks has always been a PixelTunes Radio staple, but on episode 105, we’re down-right hole punchy! Mike is joined by our guest co-host once again, Justin, as they go round robin on tracks with the always knowledgeable VGM aficionado himself, Niko AKA The Wii Guy! Listen on as the guys get weird and wonky with Looney Tunes, discuss the finer methods of cheese and pickle based weaponry, and baste themselves in the longest track to date on PixelTunes history! With tons of humor and information about the Super NES sound hardware, along with some truly deep cuts, this is one you won’t want to miss!

Thanks to Justin for subbing for Ed again, and as always, our guest Niko AKA The WiiGuy! Check out his channels!

WiiGuys 8BitStereo

Thanks to our PixelChat submitters: Jeff Leppard, John Jekel, Ariel Schneider, Joe Dunbar, Henrik Andersson, and Niko AKA The WiiGuy! Send your questions to: pixeltunesradio@gmail.com

Join our Facebook group to check out extra content from this episode!

The Tracklist:

Format: Game Title (System, Year) – Track Title – Composer(s)
All tracks this episode are from the SNES

1 – The Green Lantern (Unreleased) – “Hi Score” – Dean Evans

2 – Daffy Duck: The Marvin Missions (1993) “20,000 Martians Under the Sea” – Jim Hedges

3 – Imperium (1992) “Base of the Sea” – Tenpei Sato, Tatsuya Sato, Hiroki Uematsu

4 – Stone Protectors (1994) – “Main Theme” – Steve Duckworth

5 – Alien vs. Predator (1993) – “Space Port” – Tenpei Sato, Hisayoshi Ogura

6 -Rudra no Hihou (Treasure of the Rudras) (1996) – “Battle for the Fields” – Ryuji Sasai

7 – Rendering Ranger: R2 (1995) – “Stage 7” – Stefan Kramer, Jesper Olsen

8 – Super Star Wars (1992) – “Jawa Sandcrawler” – John Williams, Paul Webb

9 – Hebereke’s Popoitto (1995) – “Stages 3 & 5” – Noriaki Urata, Kazuo Nii, Hiroshi Tsukamoto

10 – Utopia: The Creation Of A Nation (1993) – “Alpha Ceti” – Barry Leitch

11 – Gradius III (1991) – “Aqua Illusion” – Kazuki Muraoka, Kazuhiko Uehara, Harumi Ueko, Yukie Morimoto

12 – The Great Battle IV – (1994) – “Floating World Martom (Fourth Stage)” – Norihiko Togashi


This entry was posted in Podcast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Episode 105: SNES Deep Cuts

  1. Nathan Daniels says:

    Oh, you guys! When I heard the pixelchat question, “Which unreleased game would you like to see?”, I immediately thought about Green Lantern. Imagine my surprise when you kicked off the track list with a Green Lantern track!

    So here’s why this interests me: That Green Lantern track is not a pure SNES track; it’s cheating a little. I know this because I recently got Rob F. Switch in trouble on episode 195 of The Legacy Music Hour. He played a Green Lantern track on the show, after I recommended it to him. After the track played, Brent and Gabe were quite suspicious, saying some of it sounded “too good” to be straight SNES.

    Sure enough, they were right. They contacted Dean, and he confirmed that the Green Lantern tracks he posted to YouTube(the only place they exist, AFAIK) were taken from a SNES devkit and cleaned up afterwards. It looks like we may not ever know exactly how different those tracks would sound than if they were played off of actual SNES hardware, which is a shame. They’re some of my favorite SNES(esque) tunes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.